First Brew Competition - 2 medals...woot!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JediMaster77

Reaction score
Im not bragging by any means...I am just very excited.

I started brewing 2 years ago. I do extract brewing and last week entered my first local competition.

my blond ale took 2nd place in its category and my stout took 3rd in its category.

the competition while local tends to attract people from across the state of Arizona. And while the homebrew competition is supposed to be non-professional, (because this is in conjuction with the brewfest event that goes on for the vendors) some businesses submit brews as homebrewers anyway.

I post this as kind of a thank you to all the people who post here. This has been an excellent resource for me along the road.

im not fooling myself by any stretch, I am still very much in diapers and learning to crawl. but it is nice to know that there are neutral parties out there that think my beer is good.

Thanks for reading and all the posts that have inspired me

Nice, congrats! Sometimes people discount extract brewing thinking they can make better beer if they go all-grain. Too many times I've heard people say things like "I'm a homebrewer, but I just do extract." I love all-grain brewing and I've been doing it for over 10 years, but that doesn't necessarily mean it makes better beer than you can using extract brewing. In fact, if you don't know what you're doing it can mean you have a bigger chance of screwing things up. It's good to hear you helped dispel that myth. Congrats on your medals!