First batch, two weeks in

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OzarksBrews

Reaction score
Ok, total newbie, working on a pretty basic beginners kit. Two weeks in the primary and I wanted to go ahead and experience two stage fermentation so I racked to the Carboy today. Went very smoothly from sanitation to siphoning so I think I'm on the right track. I figure another two weeks here and then bottle conditioning. I would appreciate thoughts and hints 🍻View attachment ImageUploadedByHome Brew1420933664.983470.jpgView attachment ImageUploadedByHome Brew1420933682.717995.jpgView attachment ImageUploadedByHome Brew1420933705.837069.jpg

Could have skipped the carboy and most likely could have bottled. You run the risk of infection every time you move the beer. Congrats on your first beer.

Right on man. I rack to secondary because I can't help myself lol

I check my brew every day, check the temps, smell the airlock (probably twice a day), make sure my temp controller is still set, wonder what I can put into it while it is in secondary...

I always rack to a carboy secondary, makes for a clearer beer. Usually 2 weeks primary and 1 week secondary. I have a 3 fermenter system. rotate them every week and brew when I rack the 2 week beer into the carboy, which frees up a bucket then fill that bucket up with a fresh brew.

I can't help myself

I check my brew every day, check the temps, smell the airlock (probably twice a day), make sure my temp controller is still set, wonder what I can put into it while it is in secondary...

I think they may have developed a pill for that kind of extreme OCD

I think U have beer