Fining agent

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coddy

Reaction score
Hi
I'm new to all this.
I'm just in the process of making some IPA & was going to put some fining agent in it, to clear it.
At what point do I put them in & how much to put in? I was going to siphon it out of the fermenting bin into Demijohns & add it then, but still unsure 🤔

What type of fining agent are we talking here? There are many different types.

On a side note, are you using kettle finings (Irish miss or whirfloc) during the boil? If not, I would suggest starting there, then moving to cold side fining if you still find you are unhappy with clarity.

On a side note, are you using kettle finings (Irish miss or whirfloc) during the boil? If not, I would suggest starting there, then moving to cold side fining if you still find you are unhappy with clarity.

Thanks for your reply, the fining agent is just some I brought in Wilkos with my homebrew kit.
I didn't know there are different types.

Is it the Willkos beer fining (small packet)? If so, I think it might just be an expensive packet of gelatin. Not sure though, as there is no ingredient listing on the site.

I wish when I was new to brewing that I had skipped cold side fining. Most of the home brewers I know use only kettle finings mixed with cold conditioning and time, the ones that do cold side fining typically use a gelatin solution in cold-crashed beer which works quickly and costs almost nothing.

If you are new to brewing, I would suggest you focus more on sanitation, temp control and reducing oxidation between fermentation and packaging before worrying too much about clarity.

Just my .02 cents