Final Gravity way off

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blaker78

Reaction score
So I am fairly new to brewing but I have made a few batches over the last few months.

I have been making the Cream of three crops recipe. I have made it twice now with the same out come. My final gravity was 1.019 both times when the recipe is stating that it should finish at 1.005.

Now I am doing a 1 gallon batch that I used Beersmith to convert from the original recipe.

Right now I have a 1 gallon jug that I brewed on Feb 24th so its been 16 days. I checked on the 6th and it read 1.02 and then again on the 10 and it was maybe 1.019. Should I leave it longer or are there any options. I did change the recipe to use nottingham yeast. Should I rehydrate some more of it and pitch it in? I havent had this issue with any of my previous recipes I have tried.

Thanks this site has been a huge help to a beginner.

Jeff

So I am fairly new to brewing but I have made a few batches over the last few months.

I have been making the Cream of three crops recipe. I have made it twice now with the same out come. My final gravity was 1.019 both times when the recipe is stating that it should finish at 1.005.

Now I am doing a 1 gallon batch that I used Beersmith to convert from the original recipe.

Right now I have a 1 gallon jug that I brewed on Feb 24th so its been 16 days. I checked on the 6th and it read 1.02 and then again on the 10 and it was maybe 1.019. Should I leave it longer or are there any options. I did change the recipe to use nottingham yeast. Should I rehydrate some more of it and pitch it in? I havent had this issue with any of my previous recipes I have tried.

Thanks this site has been a huge help to a beginner.

Jeff