filling secondary w/ co2 before racking

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt3989

Reaction score
Alright, so I've never used a secondary before, but I've got a stout I'm planning on aging over some chocolate and cherries. I know people do this all the time without problems, but I've also heard the biggest risk (after good sanitation procedures) is oxidation. Has anyone used a co2 bottle and a regulator set pretty low to fill up a secondary with co2 and force most of the oxygen out before you racked into it? Does it help? Since i already have everything I'd need i would think it'd be easy enough.

If you have the gear, I would mos def do it. Seems simple enough, though I don't know if it's necessary.

When I racked my mead, I got some dry ice at the store, dropped it in, racked on top of it. Still waiting to find out how it turned out.

A friend of mine uses one of those silicone carboy caps. Then sticks a racking cane attached to tubing and connected to the regulator in the top hole of the cap. Then he puts his finger over the other hole. He lets it build a bit of pressure and when he releases it... poof. He gets a cloud of white C02. For me that's a bit overkill since CO2 is heavier than oxygen. I just added an adapter to my CO2 line, spray CO2 into the carboy for about 30 seconds and rack to the bottom. The CO2 will be at the bottom and the O2 will be forced out of the top.

scoundrel said: