Filling a hole in a jet burner cast body

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eknee

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm using the 23 tip jet burners on my brew stand. One of them had a pin hole leak in the cast body. I called them and they sent another one. That one had an even worse defect. I called them and they sent another. That one was fine.

My brew stand is now good to go, but I'm wondering if there's anything I can do with the burners with flaws (they didn't want the bad ones back). Is it possible to weld this cheap cast crap? I wondered about something as simple as JB weld, but wasn't sure about the temps it can handle.

Thanks for any suggestions.

I'm very much a beginner welder so I'm no expert but it's my understanding that cast iron is a pain to weld. That said, it's not going to be subjected to the kinds of pressures that say a cast iron engine block would be subjected to. I'm not sure what temp rating is for JB, but I once had an exhaust shop use it to temporarily plug an exhaust leak on my car while they were waiting for their new welder to be delivered. So I'd give it a shot...grind off any paint and put a good sized glob on there and give it plenty of time to cure before firing it up. Brazing may be another option but if it's a pinhole it might not be big enough for the brazing material to flow into.