Erdinger Weiss Reinheitsgebot?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nakeddog

Reaction score
I am drinking an Erdinger Weissbier at the moment and as always, I check out the bottle while I am drinking it. One thing caught my attention.

"Erdinger Weissbier is a traditional Bavarian wheat beer brewed in strict accordance with the Bavarian Purity Law of 1516."

Now I am not an expert by any means, but I do consider myself somewhat knowledgeable of beer and it's brewing processes. However to me, that above line that is printed on this bottle is a complete contradiction. Not only is the above line on there, but also there is a Reinheitsgebot stamp on the front, and the ingredients clearly state wheat is a main ingredient.

So how can they state this? If it is a wheat beer, then it is in direct violation of the beer purity law. In fact wheat was the main reason for this law to come into effect. Does anyone have any input on this?

Its just an advertisement. Reinheitsgeboten doesn't mention wheat or even malted barley or yeast, so you can't brew a beer that qualify its standards. Yeasts were found in 19th century...

Would malted barley just fall under "barley"? I guess what I mean is you can/could brew under the Reinheitsgebot. Spontaneous fermentation coupled with barley and water, and some hops.

Malted wheat is an acceptable ingredient for the Reinheitsgebot. Unmalted wheat, or barley for that matter, is not.

Originally it was only barley so that there would be enough wheat available for breadmaking to keep the supply high and the prices low.

Malted wheat is an acceptable ingredient for the Reinheitsgebot. Unmalted wheat, or barley for that matter, is not.