Emergency Kegging Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tremorfan

Reaction score
hey guys

I'm a college student, and my semester has just ended. I'm going home today (3 hrs away), and I hadn't really planned to come back to my apartment before I move to Houston next weekend. Anyway, I just bought the stuff I needed for kegging, sans the CO2 tank, because I had thought I could use my 20 oz from paintball with the regulator I bought (spoiler: I can't). I need to get my beer in the keg today, and I had planned to carbonate naturally, but I didn't realize I needed to use CO2 to seal the keg. Is there any way that it will seal itself if I just close it after adding the priming sugar? In my mind, if it will hold the pressure when you put CO2 in it manually, shouldn't it hold pressure when the yeast put CO2 in it? The only other option is to buy a tank next week and make a trip back here. Would it at least be ok for a few days in the keg unpressurized until I can get a tank?

I need to know what my options are. please help!

hey guys