Ebrewing options and newbie electrical questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deuce40

Reaction score
So to start off ive been brewing for almost two years now and absolutely love this hobby. I especially love how great my brews have been getting as of late because of improved processes. Now that ive gotten my brew day down to a science I want cut down on the cost a little by cutting down my propane usage.

My idea, which im sure someone has already done, is to use propane to and a heating element to heat up my strike water and get my boil going. Im going to use a two vessel system. One for mashing then another to boil and to heat up water with. The boil kettle will be used for all heating purposes so I want to have the element in this one. I want to use the propane to help get up to temps as fast as possible then just use and element to keep the boil going.

I have no really electrical knowledge so I would need some help in that department. I have done some research on this forum and I think I have a basic understanding of what ill need. I want to keep it simple so I want to do a 120v element, possibly the biggest one available to keep a good boil going for 5 gallon batches, then have the most simple control of that element. I believe that its called an ssr to control the element. So what do you guys think? Any feed back will be greatly appreciated.

Also have a box outside that has some wires that are not connected to anything. Maybe I can use this to setup a outlet there. Will 220v outlet be feasible here.

image-1363702030.jpg

Best advice - read the electric brewing primer that is stickied at the top of this forum.

Once you've done that you should have a basic understanding of how much power you can supply to your brewer.