Does my first all grain pale ale recipe look ok.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimmywit

Reaction score
I have never done a pale ale all grain recipe before and was just wondering if a few of you can look at it and let me know if it looks ok.

10lbs 2 row
1lbs crystal 40
.5 lbs vienna malt
.5 lbs cara pils

.5 oz centennial 60 min
.5 oz centennial 45 min
1 oz cascade 30 min
.5 oz cascade 15 min
.5 oz cascade 5 min

Irish moss 10 min
Safale- 05

Do you already have the 2 row? If not, I'd recommend switching to a different base malt like Pale Ale malt or Marris Otter. If so, don't worry - it'll still be great with 2 row.

And maybe switch the crystal & vienna? (1# vienna, 0.5#crystal?) But that's just splitting hairs.

I might bump back your hop additions. Without plugging in your numbers, I'd bet you're pushing 50 IBUs. Bumping back will obviously lower IBU and increase flavor/aroma.

I'd cut out the carapils, as it's not needed with that grainbill. Otherwise, I like the grainbill.

I'd change the hopping. Remember that any hops added before about 20 minutes before the end of the boil increase bittering, but give little flavor and no aroma. APAs aren't terribly bitter- they have a distinct hops flavor that comes from additions at 15 minutes and 5 or 0 minutes.

I'd hop like this:

1 oz centennial 60 min
1 oz cascade 15 min
1 oz cascade 5 min

Thanks guys! Great advice on the hops. You were right after plugging it in I was up around 56 IBU's. I have not bought the grain yet so I will switch it to Marris Otter. As far as the cara pils go if I remove them will I still get good head retention? Or will the other grains add enough? This has one thing I have struggled with. Getting good head retention that is. But thanks for the great advice.