do you brew more or drink more?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sneeron

Reaction score
This came up last night at my club meeting. Just a simple question of do you brew more than you drink or do you have gabs in batches and buy comercial?

I drink what I brew, but also try "gourmet" beers often. I just use my homebrew as a budlight and similar substitute. Rather than buy cases of ****ty beer, I brew a few cases of good beer.

I have actually slowed my drinking since I started brewing. The only beer I have been buying is the hard to get stuff/ specialty brews.

I basically have a few of my own every few days rather than going through a 12 or so of commercial in a week.

I drink less. I used to drink at least a six pack a night of coors light. Now that I brew I drink between 1 and 4 a day. I brew a whole lot more than that.

I normally brew more than I can drink. I just recently weaned myself off of buying commercial beer unless is something special or hard to find.

I drink LOTS more. But I have help, since I drink about half of the beer in the household. I brew alot, but not enough to keep us "beered up" the whole time. We do buy some good commercials to fill in the gaps.

I could drink less.

Wait. What am I saying? That's crazy talk. :confused:

I always brew twice as much as what I think I will need and this is half as much as I would like to drink.

Been drinking more since becoming a brewer. Since there are so many styles available, I feel the need to buy and try different ones to increase knowledge of malts, yeast, etc.