Do I lager my dead guy ale clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sirdrinkalot

Reaction score
Hi,
Fermented my dead guy ale (kit) at 62 degrees bottled after 3 weeks in primary1.016 FG put in storage at 62 degrees but was just had a duh moment as in am I supposed to lager this in the bottle at 40-50 degrees? Did use a Cali ale yeast if i remember correctly.....does any one have experience with this? This is my first brew so Im a newbie thanks!

Ales don't generally need to be lagered. & 62F after bottling is too cool to carb & condition the bottled beer at. Raise it to 70F or a lil more to do the job in 3-4 weeks. Temps in the bottle are different, since initial or "primary" fermentation is already done. So the upper temp range of the yeast doesn't matter, but the lower temp does. Too low a temp in the bottles will stall the yeast.

Lagering is a process unique to lager yeast. Lager yeast will continue to work at 45 degrees where ale yeast will go dormant. Rogue's Pacman yeast will ferment lower than Cali Ale, but still not go down as far as a lager yeast.

All that said, your beer will probably benefit from cold conditioning.

John Palmer / How to Brew:
[...] High molecular weight proteins also settle out during this stage. Tannin/phenol compounds will bind with the proteins and also settle out, greatly smoothing the taste of the beer. This process can be helped by chilling the beer, very similar to the lagering process. In the case of ales, this process is referred to as Cold Conditioning, and is a popular practice at most brewpubs and microbreweries. Cold conditioning for a week clears the beer with or without the use of finings.

[...] Nominal lagering times are 3 - 4 weeks at 45°F, 5 - 6 weeks at 40°F, or 7 - 8 weeks at 35°F.

Hi,