Dilution of "too strong" beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarzBock

Reaction score
I know.. I know.. why in the world would someone want to dilute a nice heavy beer. Well, I DO want to, so lets not debate the whys and what-not.

I went overkill on this last beer (fat squirrel clone). I'm kinda new to the all-grain thing, and I am doing basically partial-mash on my stove-top. This time around, I got insanely good efficiency on the mash extraction. Addition of 5lb malt extract pushed my SG up to 1.088. (!)

I have never made a beer this heavy before. I find that a 6% beer is plenty strong for me, as I like to drink more than one a night. If I try to drink 2 beers at 8.5%, the wife starts to look at me like an alcoholic, and I don't want my new hobby to get on her bad side. Yes, I was stupid enough to proclaim "DAMN! this beer is gonna be really strong", so she is weary that I'm over-juicing here.

I'd like to just get MORE beer out of the deal. I'd like to dilute it at bottling, but I have never done such a thing and I'd like to know if there are any strange nuances involved with adding a gallon or so of clean/sterile (pre-boiled) water. I figure I will get another 10 beers or so by doing this, which is great in my opinion.

Thanks for any input..

Marz

You can dilute it with water. I guess you could add water then check the gravity to get to where you want to be. In the past, I would make a big beer, drink one then move over to a smaller one. Just a thought. - Dwain

IDK what kind of beer fat squirrell is, but if it isn't very hoppy then you should be okay with diluting it a little. Don't go crazy, and I would suggest doing it on an 8 oz basis first, and then stepping it up to 5 gallons.