Dies your mash fully convert?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Codfishhead

Reaction score
Thought mine did. That was until I did an iodine test after the first runnings.

As a former Configuration Manager I'm a process guy. Track everything to repeat what's good and change what's not. So I like to test at all points.

After my first runnings I took a sample and did an iodine test. Yellows n orange. All starches converted. Added hot stirred it up and recirculated. Took another sample n find starches not converted. Iodine turned dark.

There was still starches that had yet to convert that we're loosen up after the mixing.

Anyone else finding this?

My grains were very well crushed. I recirculated for a lot of the 60 min mash.

How could heat not get to all the starches?

I check for starch conversion at 30 mins and it was converted. I'm thinking of doing 2 30 min mashes instead of one 60 mins then a rinse.

Thoughts?

I'd say you aren't measuring nearly enough. Iodine tests only tell if there is starch in solution in the sample. It doesn't tell you if you got all the starch out of the grain. You should measure the mash gravity to confirm that.

If you aren't getting full conversion (or near it) in 60 minutes, you should look at your crush to make sure it is fine enough. Otherwise, you should mash longer, not shorter.

Thx Bill

Maybe I’m not stating it correctly.

Here’s my process.
Grain was very well crushed. I take samples at every stage and record them. 11lbs of grains held at 122 for 18 mins, turn burner on and recirculate until temps hits 153. Turn down burner and hold 153 while recirculating for 60 mins. Take sample of first running that showed all starched converted. Gravity of sample at 1072.