Did I ruin my 1st batch? A story

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

El_Condor

Reaction score
Total newb screw-up on my very first brew ever. Added the flavor hops for the full hour boil. For the obvious question with no fuss, jump to the end. Experienced folks in need of a good chuckle, please sit back, open up your perfectly brewed bottle, and enjoy one at my expense:

I read Palmer's opening chapter on malt extract brewing, went on line for more instruction, and must have watched at least 5 different videos from accomplished home brewers on the process. I was so painstakingly prepared - you would have sobbed sweet angel tears of joy, I was so prepared. Steeping, sparging, extract, boil, all good. I had learned of this thing called a boil-over, but I was ready, MORE than ready to pounce. So ready that it didn't matter that, using only a three-gallon kettle, the liquid level was relatively close to the top. Not at all.