Couple of bitters - with invert sugars &/or maize

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gadjobrinus

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Bitters, pales, IPA's. I've never used sugar, nor have I used corn before. I've used wheat very sparingly from time to time in bitters, and flaked barley as well, for what I like to call a "fresh fields" quality, a touch of graininess. I've used all kinds of malts from all over in playing, and it's been fun over the years.

For now, I've been prowling around here today, reading Real Ale Drinker's Almanac, as well as some others here and there, over the last several weeks since envisioning my new brew rig as I'm dreaming of it. When I get back in, I would like to go back to what really drove me, a love of the bitters we enjoyed on a trip to England years ago.

Just looking for your thoughts on a best bitter, and a strong bitter, employing invert sugar I'll make at home; and the use of maize, which feels odd to me but I'm trying to loosen up old ways. Bitters as they are made and taste, smell, drink with a strong allegiance to the English approach.

Presume a system efficiency of 75%.

"Invert No. 1," presume 15 L; "Invert 2," 33 L.

Bottle conditioned. If I could know I'd move the beer before it lost its condition, these would be cask conditioned. I need a few friends on a very good, or a very bad, night.;)

Best Bitter:
Anticipated OG: 1.041
Anticipated Terminal Gravity: 1.008
Anticipated ABV: 4.33%
Anticipated IBU: 32.7
Anticipated Color: 10.9 SRM

12 Gallon brewlength
Single Infusion Mash: 151 x 60 min. to conversion, 170 x 15 min.

Fermentables:

Maris: 14 lbs (82.9%)
De-Bittered Black: 2 oz. (.7%)
Invert Sugar No. 1 1.5 lbs (8.9%)
C 77: 1 lbs (5.9%)
Flaked Maize: 5 oz. (1.8%)

Hops: