Counterflow chiller killing my brewhouse efficiency

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ryanj

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for about 3 years now. Earlier this year I built an E-HERMS setup and have been getting pretty respectable mash efficiencies (78-85% depending on the grain bill), but I'm still seeing questionable brewhouse efficiencies.

Earlier today I brewed this recipe: http://brewgr.com/recipe/54814/cloud-city-citra-pale-ale-recipe?public=true

Pre-boil Gravity: 1.048
Pre-boil Volume: 7.8 gallons

After a 60 minute boil (1.4 gallons/hour boil off rate)...

Post-boil Gravity: 1.056

~5.7 gallons into the fermenter (I shot high to account for the double dry hop absorption).

I feel like I'm losing quite a bit of volume going from the boil kettle to the fermenter. I've measured approximately ~0.5-0.6 gallons of loss between the boil kettle dead space, hoses, pump, and counterflow chiller.

Any other CFC users have the same experience? Any tips on recovering some of that volume loss? ...or is this just the price you pay with a counterflow chiller?

I’ve only used a counterflow once, my neighbor has one. What he does with both his herms coil and counter flow is push the wort out with the next fluid being used. Herms coil first runnings gets pushed out with sparge water right until the clearer wort/water is right as the end of the hose going into the kettle. Same thing with the chiller, except the wort gets pushed out with sanitizer water that pushes all wort out to the fermenter.

This clears all hoses and chiller/coil of wort. I do this with my herms coil as well. Works well for me.