Concerns about yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goestoofast

Reaction score
Hello all.
I'm new to the game, got myself started a few months back with 3 carbouys and all the fixin's. I have made only the Brew House kits so far...porbably about 6 or 7 batches. So far my beer is turning out amazing.

So the guy who runs the home brew shop told me about tweaking these Brew House recipes...adding a bit of this...and a bit of that...to make things a bit more special and not so off the shelf.

So yesterday I mix up one of their IPA batches with a kilo of good old Canadian Maple Syrup...a kilo of Honey...and about 2 cups of sugar.

Anyway I get to the part where it says throw the yeast in...and there is none. The kit didn't have any yeast. So I run down to the closest place that had some (coopers 7 grams brewing yeast) and bought that for a few cents. Came home...pitched...happy happy.

Today I get home after work and check out the bucket expecting to see some serious action...and nothing. No head, no bubbles, same sweet smell...but no signs of fermentation at all.

Its only been about 18 hours since I threw in the yeast...but shouldnt I be seeing some crazy yeast action? Was the yeast dead?

I've kinda been a set it and forget it brewer with the last few kits...but now that I'm sort of getting more interest and tweaking the recipes I'm a bit more concerned.

Any suggestions?

You didn't mention batch size but I assume it's 5 gallons. You have a lot of adjuncts (non-malt). You would have drastically increased the OG of the original recipe so let's say you now have an OG of 1.09 you would need 17 grams of dry yeast. Since I assume you've under pitched it will take a while to get going. I would suggest pitching more yeast but it may be too late for that.