Complete Water Ignorance: Help Me Understand

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jblack138

Reaction score
So I'm wanting to brew my 3rd batch of beer & water is going to be my new focus over everything else.

Just theoretically speaking, help me understand using Distilled/RO/Spring vs Tap water. Obviously the first 3 are filtered to eliminate chlorine & the like from drinking water, but what is left mineral wise?

This is pretty daunting stuff, so I'm not super concerned with water additions at the moment. What's the prospect of using filtered water with 0 additions to brew an extract basic American Pale Ale? I know that adding gypsum, etc. will help, but I'm a complete and total newbie so I'm baby stepping here.

I have been doing some research & looking into getting a detailed water report for my area. I have a small grasp on this extensive subject, but I really need someone to explain it in idiot terms. I'm not a science guy so it's taking a while to sink in.

Any help is appreciated!

Just theoretically speaking, help me understand using Distilled/RO/Spring vs Tap water. Obviously the first 3 are filtered to eliminate chlorine & the like from drinking water, but what is left mineral wise?
Any help is appreciated!

Are you doing all grain or extract? If extract, it's typically recommended that you just use RO or Distilled. If all grain, then you've come to the right place.

I highly suggest that you download Bru'n'water and read the Water Knowledge tab. It's a phenomenal resource. It'll answer your questions about the different water sources and just about everything else you would need to know.