Cold Crashed to early

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patto

Reaction score
Hi all
So I was doing a lager FWK with 34/70 yeast at 12* C and a snub nose fermentor.
After a week it went down from 1.06 to 1.027 and stayed there for 3 days.
Being a newbie I thought it was done so I cold crashed it and transferred to a keg to start carbonation. I also got rid of the sludge.
Yes I now realize the the fermentation was stuck and I went way too early. I thought it had finished due to the Gravity readings.
Currently its sitting at around 20*C doing not much.
So what can I do now to save it.
Do I pitch some more yeast in and restart the process.
Just put it back in the temp fridge andbring the temp down restart
Toss it
or other options
TIA

What did the information for the kit say about final gravity and the make up of the grain bill?

How long has it been back to 20C and is it still in the keg? It might take a couple days for the yeast that was still in the beer to come back to life and get working.

How much yeast did you pitch originally? If you did not pitch two or three packs that might be why it stalled. It also helps to increase the temp by a few degrees ever couple days to drive the yeast to keep working.

You could try adding more yeast too, I would rehydrate the yeast to give it a running start.

Don't toss it. You may find the act of racking to your keg reactivated your yeasties and they are working away.