CO2 tank problem

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JMiles74

Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to the kegging scene and I'm having some trouble with co2 tanks going empty on me quick. This is the second time its happened to me. After the first time I lost all my co2 I double checked all the connections to make sure there were no leaks and I didn't find any. Next I turned the pressure to 20 psi n left it. Checked it two days later and everything looked fine...holding pressure at 20 psi and didn't look to be losing any co2. Well come back 4 days after that and the co2 tank is empty!? So my questions are:
What gives?
Can the keg itself be faulty?
Should I turn off the co2 when not in use (ie when I'm not pouring myself a beer)?
Will my beer be ok until I get another co2 tank? (Won't be able to drive an hour to get one till next week)
Any and all advice would be great!
Thanks- jason

First of all relax, your beer will be fine.
Check all the connections from bottle to keg with a solution of Starsan or dishsoap in water. Any bubbles will indicate a leak(there has to be a leak somewhere).
Replace the o-rings on the keg posts, I try to replace mine every time I fill the keg because I've lost beer and CO2 to bad o-rings.
Is the regulator new and does it have a nylon washer or o-ring between it and the bottle?

First of all relax, your beer will be fine.
Check all the connections from bottle to keg with a solution of Starsan or dishsoap in water. Any bubbles will indicate a leak(there has to be a leak somewhere).
Replace the o-rings on the keg posts, I try to replace mine every time I fill the keg because I've lost beer and CO2 to bad o-rings.
Is the regulator new and does it have a nylon washer or o-ring between it and the bottle?