Clogged beer line

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BCNbeer

Reaction score
Does anyone know a certain pressure or technique to clear a clog in the out post or a clogged beer line? I'm new to kegging and have the dual tap system from midwest. I have an apple-wine in one keg (which is doing just fine) and a Belgian pale ale in the other (which is not flowing out of the keg).

The belgian pale ale got a little infected (my first ever infection in 6 years of home brewing) because I left it in a bucket for far too long. I'm in the military and had to go to this school and couldn't transfer the beer, oh well. It actually taste pretty good, nice and tart. So, when I transferred it to the keg, I tried to avoid the white little islands that were in it. So, one theory I have is that the post is clogged with chunks of crap.

When I put this beer in the bucket I used Fermcap-S and that might be the cause of the little white cake islands. I'm only guessing that the beer is infected, its only a tiny bit sour and it's very drink able. Maybe you're not supposed to keg beers with Fermcap-S in it, I know that it is supposed to settle at the bottom.

Maybe it could be a poppet valve problem? If that's the case, how to I go about cleaning it with the keg carbed?

I want to just crank up the gas and blow the crap out! The beer line is full of beer it just doesn't pour!

Did you try disconnecting the QD at the post and Reconnecting? maybe it would shake something loose. I've never had the same problem so i wouldn't know about blowing out the line with excess pressure.