Cheerwine???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Medic_RN

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am fairly new to brewing having started last summer and only extract brews up to this point. I am planning to switch to biab in the very new future. I was drinking a Cheerwine (North Carolina staple non alcoholic soda) a couple of nights ago and decided I want to try and brew a Cheerwine beer. A couple of local NC breweries have done them in the past with one being a wheat beer base and the other a sour. I want to go with the wheat beer style. I have contacted both breweries to get some ideas from them. One gave minimal advice and the other hasn't responded yet. My question is about using the Cheerwine. I'm thinking it would be best to use the syrup vs the actual soda. But when do I add it and how much???? Thanks in advance!

Maybe think about doing cola and cherry extracts? If you add the syrup, you’ll be adding acid (probably phosphoric?) and corn syrup. If you do add the syrup, I would do in primary after fermentation is done, and let the syrup ferment completely out (probably another week or two).

Thanks for the reply. My concern with extract would be that Cheerwine doesn't really have the same taste as a regular cherry cola. I know the fermentation process will of course change the flavor anyway. Thanks again.
Maybe think about doing cola and cherry extracts? If you add the syrup, you’ll be adding acid (probably phosphoric?) and corn syrup. If you do add the syrup, I would do in primary after fermentation is done, and let the syrup ferment completely out (probably another week or two).

I've also considered doing a hard soda of it. I'd assume that could be done by fermenting the soda itself. Maybe with some champagne yeast and then back sweeten. Any thoughts?