Carboys VS Demijohn

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Has anyone ever used a 10-15 gallon glass Demijohn for beer fermentation? I know they are very large and awkward. But with the price of glass going up i was looking for a non-plastic alternative. Maybe doing 10-12 gallons of house ale in a single batch.

Sounds like it would work great for larger batches. I'd keep smaller ones out though, too much extra air space. You say you don't like plastic, but I will still recommend Better Bottles. You can "go green" by recycling them again and again by putting another batch of beer in them.

I have been using two Demijohns for two years or so and I like having the size.
The weight of a full Demijohn is a con so I will get help to move it or use a pump to transfer at some point I would like to upgrade to a conical fermenter.

I have started brewing 9 gallon batches instead of 10 gallon and fermenting in two corny kegs (with foam control drops) this way I have stainless instead of plastic.

Sounds like it would work great for larger batches. I'd keep smaller ones out though, too much extra air space. You say you don't like plastic, but I will still recommend Better Bottles. You can "go green" by recycling them again and again by putting another batch of beer in them.
I assume the recycling part was a joke. You can recycle glass by keeping them full too. Anyways, some people say stay away from better bottles for long term, high gravity aging. Barley wines and mead.