Carboy Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KurtK9

Reaction score
I recently acquired a large glass carboy, which was originally used for science then used for wine making about 30 years ago. It's very similar to the one in this link and I think it holds around 15 gallons (http://www.coleparmer.com/catalog/product_view.asp?sku=3454224&pfx=).

My question is, if I brew 5 gallons of beer and use the carboy as my secondary, will the large surface area of the carboy affect the beer in any way? It's about a foot in diameter...

Thanks!

Shouldn't at all. you just have more space. I think in some case head space matters for certain recipes but I think for the most part you just have extra room. I could be wrong though i'm just a noob. But I was told I could use 2 - 5 gallon buckets instead of 1 and only being able to fill it up will 4 gallons of wort so it wouldn't overflow in fermentation. That gives me lots of extra space. I would think the same rule applys for your situation.

I have that same one. it's a 12 gallon. traded a 6 pack of homebrew for it, although i haven't used it for anything yet.

I would not use that for a 5 gallon batch as a secondary, as a primary fermenter it would be ok. There would be way too much headspace for a 5 gallon batch. also keep in mind if you decide to use it for 12 gallons of beer, that carboy will weigh around 125 lbs... so build yourself a stand buddy!

Thanks for the help, I was a little afraid I'd have to brew 10 gallons or so before I could use it. You're completely right about the weight, it's got to be around 25 lbs empty...