C02 tank groaning

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fighthouse

Reaction score
Hello all, I've been lurking for a few months on these forums, and had an issue arise yesterday that I would appreciate input on.

First off, I am new to kegging, I pretty much just finished setting up two taps on my eventual four tap keezer. Last night after I got everything hooked up, I turned on my C02 to feed a my two kegs and the C02 tank made a groaning sound. I left it on and came back 20 minutes later, and my C02 tank had a coat of frost covering it. I shut it off, and looked around the house for a spray bottle (to put soap and water in), but was unable to locate one.

Was this groaning sound a leak, or could I have a bad regulator?

They groan when they push pressure, it should stop after the CO2 gets in to the beer and equalizes with your reg pressure. Check for leaks just to be sure with that spray bottle you mentioned, you're most likely fine.

The tank froze b/c of adiabatic process which happens b/c the liquid CO2 is transitioning to a vapor.

I would be concerned that you have a leak somewhere b/c it usually does not take that much CO2 to maintain a seal and headspace pressure.

I forgot to mention the groaning was continuous. When i came back to shut off the C02, the tank was still groaning at the same volume it had been when I first turned it on.

This was a brand new regulator I received from the LHBS. I was using another one from them, but they gave me a single gauge regulator instead of the standard dual gauge they give with new kits. I used the single gauge one for about two weeks without issue. I made sure that the regulator was screwed onto the tank tightly. Maybe tonight I will unscrew it, and screw it back on just to make sure the connection is tight.