Bru'n water vs Brewer's Friend

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kjm13

Reaction score
Hi all,
I just input my recipe into bru'n water, and brewer's friend, and got 2 very different mash pH estimations. (I'm a nurse and a bit of a control freak, so I check everything at least twice) Bru'n water predicted 5.1, and brewer's friend predicted 5.45. Which one is right? I keep going back to see if I entered something differently in one of the 2 programs, but I don't see anything. It seems no two programs, web sites etc give the exact same instructions or predictions, which is fine, but this is a really big difference.
Which one should I trust? Or should I split the difference and go from there?
Any and all input is welcome
thanks!

All are calculations only. If you are that much of a control freak, you should get a good pH meter and test your recipe against what was calculated. I use Bru'n Water and cant speak for Brewers Friend. And while I haven't actually tested with a pH meter, I figure that Bru'n Water is likely close enough for me. I'll eventually get a meter but its been pretty low on my list of must have gear.