Bringing gravity down?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seeyakid

Reaction score
so I started brewing My 1st brew and pale ale, i'm about 2 and a half weeks into fermentation and i have taken 2 gravity readings so far they read 1.019, I'm looking to get it down to about 1.011, my question is will it go down with more time in the fermentation bucket or is there something i need to add/do to make it go down, my instincts tell me to just let it sit for alittle because that cant hurt it, but i'm new to brewing so i'd rather kknow for sure

-seeyakid

Can you tell us more, posting your recipe and and giving an over view of your process will help us help you.

If you get the same reading a few days in a row, it's done fermenting. Nothing you can really do to bring it down further.

homebeerbrewer said:
I disagree. Sometimes fermentation gets "stuck", and possibly a different environment will get it going again.

What temp are you fermenting at? What was the OG? What yeast are you using?

Ugh didn't think about that, but depending on the OG and the target OG the yeast used.. What the FG was supposed to be.. Too many factors. Shake it a bit and move it to somewhere warmer?

Draken said:
Ugh didn't think about that, but depending on the OG and the target OG the yeast used.. What the FG was supposed to be.. Too many factors. Shake it a bit and move it to somewhere warmer?

OP that was a question to the post above, not a suggestion!!!

Can you tell us more, posting your recipe and and giving an over view of your process will help us help you.