Brewing for yourself, or for others?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nudarkshadowl

Reaction score
When I started brewing I kind of entered the hobby on a whim. I started with a deluxe homebrew kit from Northern brewer and I haven't looked back. 4 or 5 years later, and I have my dream all-grain system, a beer room/bar in a spare room of the house, and a very supportive swmbo. My question is, who do YOU brew for? I often find myself brewing or formulating recipes that are requests of friends or family, and i'm ok with that because I still get to build the recipe, etc. However, I can't remember the last time that I brewed a beer that only I wanted to try and brew. More often than not, there is some influence from somewhere or someone. Do you brew for the masses, or do you brew for yourself; and do you think that there are any pros or cons to each brewing method/style?

There are certain beers that I brew for people. Every year I brew a big honkin Russian Imperial Stout that my friends love. Same with my Baltic Porter. I'll probably have 3-4 pints of each of those 5 gallon batches. I keep them around for when friends come over and it's like a special treat for them. My wife loves big IIPA's so I make a couple batches of those a year for her. Her sister loves Dark Lagers, so I developed a recipe for her and make a batch when she's going to be around.

I'm more of a 'session' beer drinker myself, so that's what I make the most of. It seems to dissappear quicker, too for some reason :D

I would say both. I make some beers like Saisons that no one else likes except me, but I also make beers I know my wife will like. I do notice that I will often make the beer I know she will like before the one I really want.