Brew Kit?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MashStirBrew

Reaction score
Noob here. Here is what i'm ordering for my equipment kithttp://www.midwestsupplies.com/products/ProdByID.aspx?ProdID=6875.

It’s the intermediate kit from Midwest. I have looked at most of the online brew shops and this, by far, seems to be the best bang for the buck.
Along with that I have a chiller I still need to make, bottles, enameled 30qt turkey fryer pot/burner, and a 62deg basement waiting to ferment some ale. I plan on picking up some other supplies like some one step and a bottle/carboy jet from the LHBS but there kit price is way overpriced, about 35% over. Any additions I am overlooking.

I plan on starting with their Fat Tire clone (in homage of introducing me to beer with taste), and their raspberry ale with puree rather than extract. I also plan on adding some flaked wheat to the grain bags on both.
What do ya think? :tank:

Sounds ambitious for a first couple of brews but I say go for it! I am not familiar with the flaked wheat in a bag technique. I do know that when added directly it can get a little gummy. But what the hell, discovery is half the fun.

That equipment kit looks very good. I would suggest buy at least one more airlock. That way you can have one bucket plus both carboys active at once. You could also buy another lid and airlock and use the bottling bucket to ferment in.

Good luck.

I bought that very same kit. It's a great investment ;) FatTire was my first brew as well! Good luck with your new found obsession.