brand new and seeking advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mtf5104

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm brand new to brewing beer and recently purchased the complete joy of home brewing 3rd edition by charlie papazian. I also purchased a starter brewing kit. Everything seems a bit overwhelming to comprehend right now and I was wondering if anyone had any advice for a begginer. Thanks, any tips are greatly appreciated.

My advice is to learn as you go. Follow the recipe from your kit, keep everything clean, and it will go well. The first time can be intimidating, but it is easier than you think. If you can cook a recipe, you can make beer. As time and brews go by you will hone your skill and your beer will get better. I might also suggest buying How to Brew, by Palmer, great book. Best of luck, and brew on.

I just re read your post. I suggest buying a kit the first few times, then follow the directions in the kit. Once you get your feet wet, start experimenting.

http://homebrewacademy.com/

you can sign up on this site to view some videos on getting started. There is also a paid feature which I haven't used. The just get brewing video clearly outlines everything you need to know about your first brews. Helped me a lot.

Buy an extract kit from Northern Brewer to start out with. Recipe instructions actually make sense and will guide you.
No book or recipe will tell you that fermentation produces heat. The heat produced during the first 2 to 4 days of high activity can raise the wort temp 4° to 10° over ambient temp depending on estimated OG.

What kit did you get?
Where are you located?