Braggot

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wmcc75

Reaction score
So I had some ingredients laying about do I decided to make a braggot. For my one gallon batch I used 32oz clover honey, .75lbs light malt extract, some cascade hops at 5min and 0min in boil (I did not boil honey) and red star cote des blancs yeast. This is my first time ever making this style. I wonder about the hops I debated about using them but I figured why not. Anyone have any thoughts, comments, or experience with this style?

Sent from my LG-P870 using Home Brew mobile app

Braggots are good and usually the simpler the better in my experience. Make sure to use stagered nutrient additions to keep the yeast happy in that mead like environment. Just let her rip, rack every couple weeks and when it drops no more sediment prime it with some DME, bottle and let it carb up a little. See what you like about it and decide if you like the hops addition or not. Some like it in braggots and some do not.

Cool thanks for the info. I was thinking about honey for carbonation. For the style how carbed should it be?

Just lightly carbed is all it needs IMO. I don't like priming with honey because honey often puts a haze on the finished product that needs to be cleared again but if fermentation picks up it will not clear until fermentation stops. So invert sugar or DME seem to work better in this case.

I didn't know that honey would do that. Thanks again for the helpful information.

I didn't know that honey would do that. Thanks again for the helpful information.