Blonde Ale Yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RedIvan16

Reaction score
Hey all,

Came up with an English style blonde ale recipe a couple weeks ago and I'm probably going to brew it this weekend. One thing I haven't determined however is what yeast strain I should use for it. What is typical for this style? I was thinking of using London ESB because it does a great job at showcasing the malt profile, but I could be wrong because this is my first time brewing it.

Any suggestions on what to use? British ale yeast? London ale?

Whats the actual recipe?

Personally, I made a hoppy blonde (NE style Session IPA) with with 1318 and I really loved the way it turned out. I would definitely recommend it or any other british ale strain with some character.

WLP023 Burton is a great English-style yeast packed with flavor. Definitely depends on what you're going for though. Are you looking for a crystal clear beer with a small amount of fruit character? If so, WLP002 or WLP007 would be good English choices.

I based this on a couple of blonde ales I really enjoyed drinking on a trip to the UK in September. My take is a little hoppier than they are traditionally. This is for a 4 gallon batch because I'm just experimenting right now

Maris Otter - 85%
English Wheat - 10%
Carapils - 2.5%

A small amount of Magnum and Challenger for bittering, and some noble hops at the end for flavor.

The goal is to be a clear, straw colored English blonde ale that's super sessionable. Over in the UK, I loved the slight fruity and up front maltiness of the style, so I guess that's what I'm aiming for