Bitter Beer Face...Uggh!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pubwilson

Reaction score
I recent made the jump to AG, but I am sure I will go back and forth as money and time permit.
My question is about my last two brews were somewhat bitter, and even though I am no beer expert, I know something went wrong somewhere during the brewing process. One was a cream ale recipe (w/specialty grains) I got from HBT and another was a Cooper's Dark Ale (extract only) which I am trying to stomach now. I made a Belgium IPA recipe from my LHBS and it was great, so I know I am capable of making some decent homebrew. What is it in a brewday that can go wrong to cause the beer to be overly bitter?
The only thing I have recently learned is not to squeeze out my hops bags, and just to let them drain. Thanks in advance for any advice to help me. i am tired of making excuses to friends and co-workers on why I haven't produced and beer yet. :(

I am not sure if you were doing full boils before but you will get better utilization out of the hops and not need as much with full boils so if you are using the same amount as before, you may be using a lot of hops :) which is good in my mind.

post a recipe with hop amounts and boil times... and your procedure...

If they are too hoppy now pack them away in a closet and let them age... hops diminish over time.

Fermentation temps were about 65-68. I have a JC on my chest freezer.
I never did full boils until my first AG. I also recently added a scale to my equipment to help measure my hops more accurately.
I am just trying to fix my extract methods as somedays I don't have time for an AGer.

I didn't have a scale for years split hops in half by eye for 1/2 ounce another 1/2 to get to 1/4 oz... brewed about 100 gallons this way.