Belgian Wit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aackerm

Reaction score
Ive been brewing for a couple months now and have moved onto all-grain. Two weeks ago I tried my hands at a Belgian wit, recipe posted at the bottom, and everything went fairly well besides dealing with my first stuck sparge and low OG. Anyways the color looked good and the wort tasted pretty fantastic. After two weeks in the primary, fermenting in the low 60's, my white beer has turned to a caramel color.

My question to all you experts is why? My first thought is some sort of infection but there is no residue, or anything, on top of the beer and I would like to believe I do a decent job sanitizing. Sorry I don't have any pictures but any advise/suggestions would be appreciated.

Ingredients:
4.5lbs Pale Malt 2-Row
4.5lbs Flaked Wheat
1lb Flaked Oats
1oz East Kent Goldings
1oz Bitter Orange
.5oz Sweet Orange
1oz Corriander
WLP400 Yeast

Mashed at 152 for 60 Min

I just brewed a Wit as well and the recipe is almost identical to yours. The exact same thing happened to me. Not to worry!!!

After a few days of fermenting, the yeast will have done most of it's job and the beer will start to settle. That beautiful cloudiness associated with Witbier will almost start to clear from the beer leaving what appears to be a cloudy amber. When you transfer the beer for bottling or kegging and then cool, chill haze cloudiness and that Belgian Wit color should return.

I never use any finings or clarifiers when brewing witbiers. Did you use Irish moss?