Beginners thread...wine.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

universe

Reaction score
Is there a beginners thread? I just purchased all the supplies I need to start brewing wine, and I have a bunch of questions. Thanks.

Cool. Ok, so total noob here. Saw a complete brewing kit for sale CHEAP in the local classifieds so I called and got it. I was looking for any beginner tips with the simple kits. I want to do the brewing in my heated crawlspace. Anyway:

Is a 4 foot crawlspace too low to brew wine/beer?

If its too low, how 'bad' is it to move the primary fermenter before transfering to secondary?

Is there a good noob tutorial, including things like how to use the hydrometer ect?

Recommend me a cheap primary :)

Thanks and I'll be back with more questions.

If you can find a lbs...or Austinhomebrew.com....You can get an "Ale Pail" style bucket fermentor for around $10.
Another $10 that is pretty wisely spent is to get Terry Garey's book The Joy of Home Wine making. That is a pretty good beginners guide to wine. She covers all the basics in pretty plain English...and it's available on Amazon.

Here's my favorite "how to" on winemaking: winemaking: The Basic Steps
That site can be weird to navigate, but he has everything on there from yeast strains to sanitation, and covers all the winemaking problems you could have. He also has many, many recipes for all types of fruit and even things that aren't fruit.

What kind of wine are you hoping to make?

Thanks all!

I'm just starting with a red wine kit that was included in the sale. I will start it tonight. This board rocks.