Beer too dark. Late addittion of lme

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stdywell

Reaction score
I all. Am fairly new to brewing. Have about 9 or so batches under my belt, all extract.
Regardless of style, all of my batches seem to come out much darker than they should, when I compare them to images of the same style beers posted here or elsewhere online.
I stir constantly when brewing, and have in a recipe that calls for 6 lbs of LME, put in 3 at the recommended time, and three at 15 minutes left in the boil and it still seems dark. Taste seems fine, although I am no expert on different styles.
Would it make any difference, if I waited and put all LME in at 15 min or even at flameout ? Doesn't make sense to just do steeping grains and them boil hops for 60 minutes or does it. Thanks !!!

I had the same experience with my extract based brew kits. I would wait and introduce 2/3 of the extract at the end of the boil to help with this and get better hop utilization and it does help some. - I ultimately fixed this by first brewing darker beers, porters and stouts, then brewing all grain :p haha!

Are you doing a partial boil?

Ive actually held off on all the LME to flameout, I still had a beer two shades darker than intended. I've moved to a full boil and Im helping that will help. Ive also heard the the age of the LME can impact the darkness of your final product. The fresher the better.

Generally I think this is just an issue with extract brewing and like MZRIS said, will eventually drive me to AG.

Ive read that a full boil will help on this site a number of times. My last two batches were full boils so no actual evidence as of now.

Pictures can be deceiving.