basic water adjustments - low in calcium, high in bicarbonates

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tomaso

Reaction score
I'm new to the subject of water chemistry so I'm sure my understanding is flawed somehow. I got my first introduction from this BYO article...
https://byo.com/stories/issue/item/1493-the-power-of-ph

I use bottled spring water that is low in calcium (see picture; mine is the one on the left) with 43,2mg/l but very high in bicarbonates with 167 mg/l (at least as far as I understand).

What I find strange is that I thought Calcium lowers the ph and I have little calcium and bicarbonates increase the ph and I have loads of them so that makes me think I should have a too high ph while mine seems to be the opposite....

When measuring my mash ph with strips as far as I can tell the ph is at about just below 5 measured at mash temp so with some correction I guess my ph is just in or a bit below the acceptable range of 5.2 - 5.8.

While half of my beers turn out fine, the other half has a certain astringency /acidity to it that I now suspect to possibly be caused by the low mash PH and maybe not enough calcium.
So I would like to try to raise the mash ph (And maybe get more calcium into it) and see if my beer turns out maltier/rounder/less astringent.

So my question is first of all what can/should I add to my water? Gypsum maybe to increase the calcium but then the mash ph might go down even further. And baking soda to increase the ph but what about the bicarbonates?

Well, I'm sure some of you have some brilliant advice for me, Thanks already!

Font Vella composition.png