Basic Physics ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scooba

Reaction score
So I'm still relatively new at kegging. I have 4 on tap as we speak. All have been forced carbed around 12-13 PSI and the serving pressure has stayed the same.

I'm just trying to get a grasp on the physics part and CO2 absorption. My understanding is the once the beer has absorbed CO2 and is fully saturated at the dialed in pressure, the the same pressure needs to be applied to keep it carbed up. I.E., serving pressure has to be the same. OR, does it not matter what the serving pressure is because once the beer is saturated with the correct volumes of CO2, it has nothing to do with serving pressure?

Please clarify for me!!!

The pressure you keep the keg at determines how much CO2 is in the beer. Lower the pressure, the beer will off-gas CO2. Increase the pressure, CO2 will be absorbed.

Same thing happens when you open a bottle of Coke. Pressure drops, CO2 comes out of solution.

My understanding is the once the beer has absorbed CO2 and is fully saturated at the dialed in pressure, the the same pressure needs to be applied to keep it carbed up. I.E., serving pressure has to be the same.
This is correct. In order to maintain the desired carbonation level in the beer you must keep the same pressure applied at all times. Carbing the beer then changing the regulator setting to a lower "serving pressure" will cause the C02 to come out of solution and the beer will de-carbonate until it matches the new PSI setting on the regulator.