Backsweeten cider with honey - process?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roadie

Reaction score
I'm new to ciders (this is only my second batch) and have never used honey in any brewing capacity before.

I have a 5 gallon keg of tart cherry cider in the keezer. I had high hopes for it but when racking to keg added 1 lb of warmed honey (microwave) and a quart of tart cherry juice then racked the cold cider on top of it and the honey immediately clogged the dip tube. I unclogged that but what's pouring from that keg now is horribly sweet. Unsure if this is because the honey isn't mixed thoroughly enough and still at the dip tube feed point or what.

I know I'm not the first person to use honey to backsweeten but how do you mix it into the cider? The cider/honey/tart cherry juice mixture is similar to recipes I've seen in the past for Zombie Killer clones and I'm pretty sure those used 1 lb of honey to sweeten with.

It's a pain to dig the keg out of the keezer and shake it but is this my only option at this point? Should I let it warm up in the keg to get to mix better? Was 1 lb of honey way too much to attempt to backsweeten with?

one pound of honey in 5 gallons of liquid will raise the gravity by .008. In my opinion (and depending on the ABV and acidity of your cider) that is quite sweet.
The only way to know whether you are drinking concentrated honey or an overly sweetened cider is to measure the gravity of your drink. If you know what the final gravity was and you know what it is now then you can tell if the honey has been well dispersed.
Best way to back sweeten with anything is to bench test...