Are more expensive kits worth the cost?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

canuckmug

Reaction score
I'm going to be starting my second batch of beer as I only have one left from my first. I'm going to use a kit because I'm still a noob, and grains are harder and more expensive to get here than elsewhere. I can by a canned kit, you know the concentrate in the tall heavy cans. But I can also purchase the kits in a box. Basically it's a bag with what I'm guessing is unconcentrated wort. The box type is over three times as expensive as the can. Can anyone tell me if the box kits tastes any better than the canned stuff?

If I understand what you're talking about, the canned ones are cheaper because you add your own table sugar. This doesn't benefit the beer, which is better with all (or almost all) malt. So a lot of people buy the canned kits and then buy Dried Extract to use.

Un-concentrated wort is probably the Brewhouse Kits or Festa brew (sp?). These are popular in Canada and are generally better than canned kits. But 3x the price? That's huge.

If I were in your situation, I would probably just buy 2 of the cans and call it a day. That way you can get more flavor in there without adding so much corn sugar and you don't have to spend as much as a festabrew kit.

Yes Brewhouse brand was the type i was considering. They are $35 for the kit. I have found another brand of boxed kits for $50. The canned ones are about $13 not including the price of corn sugar they call for. I like the sound of not using the corn sugar so i think I will go with the boxed kind.