Anyone completely self sufficient?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SmallScaleOperator

Reaction score
Just curious who here brews 100% of the beer they drink? Not counting nights out. My goal is to get to the point where I am making all the beer I drink at my house. I have significant gains to make in output, and losses for input to get there.

I stopped drinking beer outside the house a few years ago. Not long after I started brewing. Mostly because of cost. It's hard to justify paying $5+ for a draft when I have 10+ gallons of beer at home. Which definitely didn't cost $5 a pint to make. I do occasionally purchase a 6-pack of a limited release. Usually to compare to something I've made that I'm trying to clone. The last actual 6-pack that I purchased was Bell's Oberon. So that I could culture the yeast for a Two Hearted clone last summer.

Based on volume we're around 99% home brew - at home. Every so often something lands here for tasting but otherwise with 6 brews always on tap there's zero motivation to buy more.

Otoh, I'm nearly 0% away. Summertime I'll bottle some boat beers on occasion, but otherwise my beer is best enjoyed in its natural habitat :D

Cheers!

I took a break fro a couple years from brewing, I was sufficient before then. I am about 3-4 weeks out now from being self sufficient again.

The only beer at home that is not Homebrew will be “special” beers. Rare beers, trade beers, limited release, that type of stuff. Other than that I have 4 taps to keep me happy and a bunch of kegs that are always on deck for when one kicks.