almost 48 hour lag time on WLP 001

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agreen

Reaction score
So I decided to brew a 1.068 SG IPA this week and I aerated and cooled my wort correctly so I know that this is not the problem. This is my first time using White labs yeast. When I opened the vial after shaking I receive as nice yeast burst from the top and a small amount of yeast was not pitchable because it was all over my hands. I am relatively new at brewing so I did not use a starter (lesson learned). It has been about 34 hours and I still see no signs of fermentation. Should I be worried? Do I need to go out an by another vial?

Thanks guys:rockin:

Don't panic just yet give it more time.
Don't rely on the air lock to give you signs of fermentation as
the air lock is only a vent.

Pitching 1 vial into a 1068 wort is definitely under pitching
so your yeast are most likely in there reproductive state.

Fermentation is inevitable as long as you pitched at the right temperature.

agreen said:
So I decided to brew a 1.068 SG IPA this week and I aerated and cooled my wort correctly so I know that this is not the problem. This is my first time using White labs yeast. When I opened the vial after shaking I receive as nice yeast burst from the top and a small amount of yeast was not pitchable because it was all over my hands. I am relatively new at brewing so I did not use a starter (lesson learned). It has been about 34 hours and I still see no signs of fermentation. Should I be worried? Do I need to go out an by another vial?

Thanks guys:rockin:

Beer can take up to 72 hours to show visible signs of fermentation. To give you a bit of peace of mind...