Advice to new brewers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimbodaman

Reaction score
I see many threads where beginners are always checking the gravity/ just generally playing around with there fermenting beer(sometimes 4 or 5 times). The less your beer is handled post boil the better. I'm no expert, I only have like 15 recipes under my belt, but the one thing that helped improve my beer the most is just letting my beer sit untouched for 4 weeks. I just want to pass along one of the few things I picked up over the past 2 years. (I know 3 weeks is usually sufficient)

Agreed!
90 batches under my belt and embarrassed to admit it took me much more than 15 batches to figure out what you already have ( ;

One reason for this is the common but somewhat misguided (IMHO) advice to check for gravity 3 days in a row, and determine if it hasn't changed - as a sign of fermentation being complete. I have never done that. I don't want to futz with the beer, and I don't want to waste all of those samples. Since a newbie is anxious for the beer to finish fermenting, they begin this string of gravity checks far too early. And the gravity keeps going down, so they keep measuring.

Eventually one learns to tell when the beer is finished, both by appearance, measured vs. predicted FG, and yeast behavior. Just wait a full 2 weeks to check for the first time, and that will eliminate a lot of the playing around.

& if you're an extract brewer, it's not really necessary to check for OG. as long as you hit your volumes, you are basically guaranteed to hit your gravity.

you can't gain or lose sugar from extract, so the only way to not hit OG is for you to add too much or not enough water

and I always wait 3 weeks, check once for FG and go straight to bottling