Advice for 1st time brisket smoke please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamie_b

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a newbie here. I have been reading a LOT of your posts and I am learning a lot. I plan to smoke an 8-9 pound brisket for Christmas day and so I have been reading to try and be clear on how to do it. A little about me: I am outside of Dallas, Texas. It will be in the 50's that day. No rain. I have a New Braunfels offset smoker given to me by a neighbor when he moved away. This is my 3rd smoke. I can maintain heat pretty well for 4-6 hours, but I made some mistakes the first couple times I smoked beef ribs and then a pork tenderloin.

My old (probably wrong way): Light Kingsford charcoal in cannister, pour in fire box when ashed. Drop a dry pecan log on top, add meat, adjust vents to maintain temp. Spray apple juice on flaming log when fire gets too big. Add new coal around edges of fire box and fresh log on top when old one burns out. Meat was WAY too smokey.

Where I am now: Planning on around 8 hour smoke, wrap in foil and put in oven 3-4 hours then rest. I plan to buy 20 lbs of Kingsford Charcoal. I have a bag of apple wood chunks, I have a bag of pecan logs. My question is: "How do I best use these and how much do I use?"

My rough plan is:
1) Light coal in cannister till ashed then add to fire box.
2) Pile on dry apply wood chunks (not sure how much) and let them ash over.
3) Dry rub brisket while waiting for wood.
4) Soak pecan log for about 2 hours prior to go on wood pile.
5) Add soaked log and then add meat.

Please correct any mistakes above or let me know how much apple wood chunks to add?