Abv

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dlax006

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing. I've only done two 5 gallon batches thus far, and my ABV percentages according to my hydrometer are very low (around 2%). I've allowed both batches to ferment completely before bottling. My question is, how do I increase my ABV? I mean, my beers taste like what I mean them to taste like, just in a lighter form. Any help or advice anyone can offer is very appreciated!

You need to increase fermentible materials. Basically, add more sugar. Where have you gotten your recipes? How do you know what your ABV is?

Disregard that ABV scale on the hydrometer. You need to measure the gravity pre-fermentation and then again post-fermentation. The difference is what you use to calculate ABV. If you are doing partial boils and taking gravity readings you'll always be off on the pre-fermentation because the heavier wort sinks to the bottom and the water floats to the top. It takes a while for everything to mix well.

Well I'm sure my methodology is poor at best currently considering I'm just trying to get the bare-bones of the process down. I guess in addition to the previous question I asked in this thread, I should ask what is a good standard methodology to make a good brew? I understand that the process can change dramatically based on what kind of beer you are shooting for, but just as a basic standard for brewing, what kind of process should I follow? I'm just very discouraged right now because I've put a lot of money into these last two beers, and I feel like I've failed miserably on them (given I didn't take any gravity readings on them, however that will change thanks to the advice I've been given). Thanks for all the advice leading up to this post guys!