A Quick Question + Impatience

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IHaveTheCri

Reaction score
Alright, before I ask any questions, I wanna say that I am a beginner, and I do not know if this is something I want to do, therefore, I don't wanna put any money into this at all. If by the time this is done/ if it doesn't work, I want to continue, then I will put money into it.

Since this is my first time doing this, I decided to use items I already have around the house. A mason jar, sugar, water and organic raisins. (I read somewhere that you could possibly get wild yeast from raisins that were not treated with sulfites)

I put water into the mason jar, filling it 3/4 the way, then added about 6/7 tablespoons of table sugar. I mixed it up, and allowed the sugar to dissolve. then I added in about 12 raisins. (keep in mind, everything is sanitized).

I woke up today, and noticed small bubbles coming from around the raisins. I thought two things. Either it's oxygen from the raisin escaping, or carbon dioxide from the wild yeast that may or may not have been there. I opened the jar once, and sure enough, I smelled bread.

Now, since I opened it up, I assume I'd have to wait for cellular respiration to do its job, and eat up the remaining oxygen in the jar.

Now, here's the question.

If a hair accidentally gotten into the liquid, could it get infected?

Also, is it normal for a beginner to be so impatient, that they check on it every few hours, even though it could take days?

The answer to your question is yes, a hair could harbor bacteria that could be seen as an infection of your science experiment.