3gallon keg 5 gallon batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerzilla81

Reaction score
Hey all! So I got a 3 gallon keg for an early birthday gift but, I only do 5 gallon batches. My question is, how would I go about priming between the keg and bottles? Thanks

alterantively use the same calculator to calculate three gallons kegged and two gallons bottled and make two batches of priming sugar, pour the first in the keg and siphon from your fermenter to the keg siphon the rest to your bottling bucket and put the other batch of priming sugar in there.

I am a sorta simple but why can't he prime the whole 5 gallons and bottle what he wants. I can't see the priming sugar hurting his keg if it is sanitary. But I am just a beginner so set me straight if I am wrong.:)

I am a sorta simple but why can't he prime the whole 5 gallons and bottle what he wants. I can't see the priming sugar hurting his keg if it is sanitary. But I am just a beginner so set me straight if I am wrong.:)

This would work. I always force carb my kegs, but I recalled amount of sugar was slightly dif for kegs.

alterantively use the same calculator to calculate three gallons kegged and two gallons bottled and make two batches of priming sugar, pour the first in the keg and siphon from your fermenter to the keg siphon the rest to your bottling bucket and put the other batch of priming sugar in there.

^^^^This is the way to go. I keg condition all my beers. You don't need as much priming malt/sugar in the keg. I typically use .75 oz per gal.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

I'll try it this way first. Would I still use two cups of water to mix with the priming sugar