2Row vs MO vs GP

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tetzlaf

Reaction score
I was once told on a post I should be using American 2 Row for an American beer style. I didn't care for that comment as I am my own brewmaster and not a clonemaster or any such other master. However I am new to brewing so I am looking to see what major differences using Maris Otter or Golden Promise will do to a blonde ale or an American amber for that matter.

I started using MO because I read on Midwest that it has a "rich flavor and very forgiving brewing performance" as well as "an efficient runoff". Also my LHBS charges the same for Crisp MO as Briess 2 Row. Sure sounds better than "what most people use" and for the same price.

As far as I can tell from reading GP will make a sweeter cleaner wort, what does cleaner mean exactly?

To me is seems both these malts should be a step above domestic 2-row, but will a beer actually taste off becuase of using them?

Matt

The MO will give your beer a maltier flavor, where as the American 2-row is a grain i use when a malt backbone is not something i am particularly interested in having.

2-row is a bit lighter in color that then MO

When making a lighter abv beer i use MO then too as it gives the perception of a fuller beer despite being fairly small.

I started using MO because I read on Midwest that it has a "rich flavor and very forgiving brewing performance" as well as "an efficient runoff". Also my LHBS charges the same for Crisp MO as Briess 2 Row. Sure sounds better than "what most people use" and for the same price.

As far as I can tell from reading GP will make a sweeter cleaner wort, what does cleaner mean exactly?