2023 Homebrew Geuze Project

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BugAC

Reaction score
I've been brewing lambic for 3 years now and over the holidays, i was finally able to bottle my first Geuze. I've been patiently awaiting this date. I keep all of my sour beers in a closet under the stairs that has a vent in the wall that leads to my pantry inside. Temp is relatively stable. Winter time it gets as low as 62-64, summer it gets as high as 76. Typically, temp stays in the 68 degree range. Below is each lambic and my blending procedure. I was brewing another lambic on the same day so i didn't get as detailed in my note taking as i would have liked. The floor corker worked incredibly well. All bottles were corked and capped. Currently stored upright.

I have not wild or spontaneously fermented any of these beers yet. I live in South Louisiana and i don't yet trust the microbes in the air. I wanted to get the first geuze brewed before i attempted wild capture. We have some cold weather coming in the next couple of weeks, i plan to brew up a yeast starter and see what i capture there, as well as use the bootleg biology yeast capture kit.

Beer name - brew date - Volume - Mash method - recipe - Yeast/bacteria profile - FG - ABV
Lambic #1 - 12/29/20 - 5 gal - Turbid Mash - 68/32 Pilsen/Unmalted wheat, 2 oz. aged hops - WY3763 Roselare blend + geuze bottle dregs - 1.000 - 6.9%
Lambic #2 - 6/19/21 - 5 gal - Turbid Mash - 68/32 Pilsen/Unmalted wheat, 2.3 oz. aged hops - WY3763 Roselare blend + geuze bottle dregs - 1.000 - 7.3%
Lambic #3 - 12/4/21 - 3 gal - Infusion Mash - 58/25/17 Pilsen/White Wheat/Unmalted Wheat, 3.3 oz. aged hops - WY3763 Roselare blend + geuze bottle dregs - .994 - 6.8%